Proceedings of the Executive Committee meeting held during the 19th Annual conference of the Society of Statistics, Computer and Applications at the Department of Statistics, SKUAST-J, Jammu on 6th March 2017 at 9.00 am

The Executive Committee meeting was attended by the following members:

- 1. Dr. V.K. Gupta, in Chair
- 2. Dr. R.B. Barman
- 3. Dr. Aloke Dey
- 4. Dr. A.C. Kulshreshtha
- 5. Dr. A.K. Srivastava
- 6. Dr. A.K. Nigam
- 7. Dr. Rajender Parsad
- 8. Dr. Ashish Das
- 9. Dr. D. Roy Chaudhury
- 10. Dr. Aloke Lahiri
- 11. Dr. Hukum Chandra
- 12. Dr. Shibani Roy Choudhury
- 13. Dr. S.A. Mir
- 14. Dr. S.E.H. Rizvi, Special Invitee
- 15. Dr. Manish Kumar Sharma, Special Invitee

The Chairman welcomed all the members present in the meeting. Thereafter, the agenda items of the meeting were taken up.

1. Confirmation of the proceedings of the EC meeting held at the University of Jammu, Jammu on $18^{\rm th}$ February 2016

The proceedings of the executive council meeting held at the University of Jammu, Jammu on 18th February 2016 were circulated among the EC members. Since no comments were received on the proceedings of the EC meeting, the proceedings were confirmed.

2. Arrangements of the conference

The President expressed satisfaction at the arrangements made for boarding and lodging of the delegates for a comfortable stay during the conference.

3. Presentation of report of activities and accounts of the Society

The Secretary, Dr. D. Roy Choudhury presented the activities of the society. Dr. Ashish Das presented the audited report of the society for 2016-17

4. Election of Executive council members and office bearers

There are 15 Executive Council Members. It was decided that five members each year may be re-nominated/replaced every year. It was also deliberated that one of the organizers of the Annual conference may be nominated as Executive Council Member. Further, it was discussed that Dr. V. Ramasubramanian who is presently stationed at Mumbai, is not able to effectively participate in the activities of the society as Joint Secretary. So it was proposed to have Dr. Hukum Chandra in his place as one of the Joint Secretary of the society. The proposal for Executive Council for 2016-17 is given in Annexure-I and would be placed in General Body meeting of the Society for its approval.

The Society gratefully acknowledges the services rendered by Dr. V. Ramasubramanian, Secretary and Dr. Seema Jaggi, Executive Council Member for their effective role in managing the day to work of the society. It was also decided to send an appreciation letter to the outgoing members for the services rendered by them.

5. Appointment of auditor for 2017-18

M/S Panjrath Kapoor and Company, Chartered Accountants, B-165, Chittaranjan Park, New Delhi has been appointed as the Auditor of the Society. They have audited and prepared accounts of the society for 2015-16 and would also file the income tax returns for financial year 2016-17(Assessment year 2017-18)

6. Life membership Fees

Dr. Sudhir Gupta, Foreign Secretary, in a communication has expressed his concerns that the foreign membership fee of \$350 is on the higher side. After long deliberations, it was decided that foreign life membership for may be kept as US \$ 150 or equivalent. Life membership for professionals within India may be kept as such at Rs. 3,000.00.

7. Award for recognition of the life time achievements

The proposal of Dr. A.C. Kulshreshtha for instituting a life achievement Award was discussed at length and after long deliberations, the following sub-committee was constituted to deliberate upon whether such an Award should be instituted.

Sub-committee

- 1. Dr. A.C. Kulshreshtha
- 2. Dr. A.K. Srivastava
- 3. Dr. Aloke Dey
- 4. Dr. Rajender Parsad

The committee would deliberate upon whether or not such an award should be instituted by the Society. If yes, then the committee would also frame the rules and regulations and criteria for giving this award. The sub-committee was requested to submit its report by June 2017. The report of the sub-committee would then be placed before the Local office Bearers and Executive Council.

As there was no other item, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Proposed Executive council for 2017-18

Founder President: Late Prof. M.N. Das

President	V.K. Gupta
Executive President	Rajender Parsad
Patrons	 R.B. Barman Rajpal Singh Aloke Dey R.C. Agrawal A.C. Kulshreshtha Pankaj Mittal
Vice-Presidents	 A.K. Nigam Prithvi Yadav S.D. Sharma D.K. Ghosh
	3. V.K. Bhatia

Secretary D. Roy Choudhury
Foreign Secretary Sudhir Gupta
Treasurer Ashish Das

Joint Secretaries 1. Aloke Lahiri

2. L.M. Bhar

3. Hukum Chandra

4. Bikas K. Sinha5. A. Dhandapani

Members 1. B.N. Mandal 2. P Rath, Delhi

3. S.A. Mir

4. Girish Jha

5. P.C. Gupta

6. Anshu Bhardwaj7. Amrendra K. Jha

8. Shibani Roy Choudhury

9. Rahul Gupta

10. AlkaArora

11. K.V. Palanichamy

12. Manisha Pal

- 13. Praggya Das14. Piyush Kant Rai15. Manish Kumar Sharma

Ex-officio Members

- 1. Chair Editor, S and A
- 2. Executive Editor, S and A
- 3. Director, IASRI
- 4. DG, CSO