Proceedings of the Executive Committee (EC) meeting held during the 15<sup>th</sup> Annual conference of the Society of Statistics, Computer and Applications (SSCA) at the Mathematics and Statistics Department, Banasthali Vidyapith, Banasthali, on 24<sup>th</sup> February 2013 at 9.00 a.m.

The Executive Committee meeting was attended by the members of the EC of SSCA present during the conference. The following members were present:

- (i) Prof. Aloke Dey, in Chair
- (ii) Prof. V.K. Gupta
- (iii) Prof. Ashish Das
- (iv) Dr. D. Roy Chaudhury
- (v) Dr. Rajender Parsad
- (vi) Dr. Aloke Lahiri
- (vii) Dr. Lalmohan Bhar
- (viii) Dr. Ramasubramanian V.
- (ix) Dr. Piyush Kant Rai
- (x) Dr. Saurabh Mukherje

The following decisions were taken:

1. The proceedings of the meeting of the last Executive Committee meeting held at Saurashtra University Rajkot on 24.02.2012 were confirmed.

2. The EC recalled with gratitude the enormous contributions of (late) Dr. M. N. Das in nurturing the Society since its inception. It was decided that the phrase "Founded by Late Dr. M.N. Das" will be written on the top of the letter pad of the Society.

The mailing address of the society will be IASRI which will also be written in the letter pad.

3. The President of the Society was also elected during the meeting. Dr. V.K.Gupta was unanimously elected as the new President of the society. It was also decided that the position of Executive President may not be filled at present. It could be filled later, if need be.

4. The present Executive Council proposed new council member to be approved in the General body meeting. The list is given in the **ANNEXURE I**.

5. In order to give a new look to the Journal and attract good quality papers, the Editorial Board was reconstituted. It was decided to have a Chair Editor, Executive Editor, Managing Editor and Associate Editors. Some Advisory Editors could also be appointed.

6. The Journal would, however, be managed by the following:

1. Dr. Aloke Dey Chair Editor

2. Dr. Rajender Parsad Executive editor3. Dr.Lal Mohan Bhar Managing Editor

7. It was also decided to bring out a special issue of the Journal in honour of Late Dr. M.N. Das. The following Guest Editors were appointed for the purpose: It was decided that the special issue may be brought out as early as possible.

- 1. Dr. Aloke Dey
- 2. Dr. Sudhir Gupta
- 3. Dr. Rajender Parsad

8. Regarding setting up of regional centres of the society, it was informed in the last general body meeting that a regional centre has been established at Saurashtra University, Rajkot. It was decided that at present no further regional centre be opened and status quo should be maintained as far as the Rajkot centre is concerned.

9. There was a discussion about holding the conference of the Society once in two years. However, it was finally decided to continue organizing the conference every year.

10. On a suggestion that membership fee for becoming a member of the society be increased, it was decided after some discussion that with effect from 01-04-2014 the Life Membership may be raised to Rs. 3000/- and the Annual membership fee to Rs. 300/-. In any conference, any non-member be charged Rs. 200/- for attending the conference.

11. A letter may be sent to International Statistical Institute that a conference on statistics was organized in a women's university.

12. The EC members were urged to increase the funding source by encouraging others to join as life members.

13. It was decided that the proceedings of the conference may be uploaded in the website of the society.

14. The issue of conferring Fellows of the society was discussed and it was decided that no such fellowships need be constituted as of now.

15. The President Dr. V.K.Gupta read out a draft for expressing gratitude to the excellent arrangements made by Banasthali Vidyapith for organizing the conference.

16. It was decided to close the account held with HDFC bank.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(D. Roy Chaudhury) Secretary, Society of Statistics, Computer and Applications

# **Founder President**

Late Dr. M.N. Das

## **President**

V. K. Gupta

# **Patrons**

- 1. Pranab Sen, New Delhi
- 2. R. B. Barman, Mumbai
- 3. Rajpal Singh, Baraut
- 4. Aloke Dey, New Delhi
- 5. K.N. Ponnuswamy, Chennai
- 6. R.C. Agrawal, New Delhi

## **Vice-Presidents**

- 1. S.D. Sharma, New Delhi
- 2. D.K. Ghosh, Rajkot
- 3. A.K. Nigam, Lucknow
- 4. V.K. Bhatia, New Delhi
- 5. Bikas K. Sinha, Kolkata
- 6. Pankaj Mittal, Sonipat
- 7. A.C. Kulshreshtha, New Delhi

## **Secretary**

D. Roy Chaudhury, New Delhi

#### Treasurer

Ashish Das, Mumbai

#### **Joint Secretaries**

- 1. Aloke Lahiri, New Delhi
- 2. L.M. Bhar, New Delhi
- 3. Ramasubramanian V., New Delhi

#### **Members**

- 1 K.K.Jose, Pala, Kerala
- 2 K.V. Palanichamy, Ahmedabad
- 3 G.M. Saha, ISI, Calcutta
- 4 Sarala Pareek, Banasthali
- 5 Kashinath Chatterjee, Shantiniketan
- 6 G.K. Shukla, Lucknow
- 7 S. Sampath, Chennai
- 8 Piyush Kant Rai, Banasthali

# **Ex-Officio Members**

Chair Editor, SSCA Executive Editor, SSCA Director, IASRI DG, CSO

- 9 A. Ramasastri, RBI, Mumbai
- 10 P.P. Yadav, Kanpur
- 11 A. Dhandapani, Hyderabad
- 12 Alka Arora, New Delhi
- 13 P.S. Pandey, New Delhi
- 14 Jagdish Prasad, Jaipur
- 15 Pragya Das, Mumbai